2023 New Officers and Board Elected

WASHINGTON, May 12 — The Military Reporters & Editors (MRE) association, the preeminent organization for U.S. journalists covering national security, is pleased to announce the election of its new board members. The election took place over the past two weeks ending today.

Howard Altman, a seasoned journalist with an extensive background in military reporting, was elected as the new President of the Board. He succeeds Jeff Schogol, who served with distinction and made significant contributions to the MRE during their tenure.

Joining Altman are Jen Judson as Vice President, Susan Katz Keating continuing her tenure as Secretary, and Kristina Wong also continuing as Treasurer. Alongside them, six dedicated journalists have been elected to serve as new board members, rounding out a team that brings a wealth of knowledge and a strong commitment to advancing MRE’s mission. They are Carla Babb, Sig Christenson who co-founded MRE, Greg E. Mathieson Sr., Steve Walsh, Sandra Vidrequin and Geoff Ziezulewicz.

The MRE extends its gratitude to the outgoing board members for their dedicated service and contributions. Their efforts have strengthened the MRE’s position as a vital resource for journalists covering the military and national security.

About Military Reporters & Editors (MRE)

The Military Reporters & Editors association is the leading organization for U.S. journalists covering national security. MRE provides resources, support, and networking opportunities for its members, fostering excellence in journalism and promoting public understanding of military and national security affairs.

For more information, please visit militaryreporters.org.